Pontefract Badminton Club

Pontefract Badminton Club was formed in September 2018 from players who were playing as ‘The Corinthians’ in various local leagues and is now fully integrated as part of the Pontefract Squash & Leisure Club – the club now has teams competing in the Leeds, Castleford, and Barnsley leagues.

The club is seen as being part of the development pathway for players from Pontefract’s “No Strings” sessions, along with Junior players, and the club have seen a number of players progress into team spots over the years.

Club Nights take place every Tuesday & Thursday for those who are registered members at team level standards.

The club arrange and attend various social events throughout the year including BBQ’s, nights out, attending the Castleford League Dinner Dance at the end of each season, along with playing other racket sports such as Squash and Padel.

This year (2021) also saw the first, very successful, “Hugh Heron Past & Present Players Tournament” organised to celebrate Hugh’s 40th year with the club. It has been decided that this will run as an annual tournament to bring together players from across the years.

Hugh Heron Past & Present Players Tournament Results 2021/22
• Winners – Adam Purcell & Rob Fellows
• Runners-up – Jess Markey & Andy Barley

League Results 2021/22
• Men’s Leeds, Division 3 – 1st
• Mixed Castleford A, Division 1 – 2nd
• Mixed Castleford B, Division 1 – 5th
• Mixed Castleford C, Division 2 – 5th
• Men’s Barnsley A, Division 1 – 2nd
• Men’s Barnsley B, Division 2 – 5th

Castleford Tournament Winners & Runners-up 2021/22
Division 1
• Men’s Singles Runner-up – Liam Moore
• Ladies Doubles Runner-up – Jess Markey & Moon Liew

Divisions 2 & 3
• Men’s Singles Runner-up – Matt Thomas
• Men’s Doubles Runners-up – Hugh Heron & Mark Illidge

Veterans – Division 1
• Mixed Doubles Runners-up – Teresa Person & Jon Schofield
• Men’s Doubles Runners-up – Mark Illidge & Jon Schofield

Veterans – Divisions 2 & 3
• Men’s Doubles Winners – Hugh Heron & Mark Illidge

Super Veterans
• Men’s Doubles Winners – Mark Illidge & Jon Schofield

Committee for the 2022/23 Season
Chairman – Daniel Hooley (daniel.hooley@googlemail.com)
Match Secretary – Jess Markey (markeyjessica@outlook.com)
Both Graham Hursthouse and Beth Hursthouse have ran the club for many years and we want to thank them for all of their hard work in creating such a successful and welcoming club.

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top