Our Sports Hall has been completely refurbished to provide a superb new facility offering 4 badminton courts. We offer various badminton sessions at various times throughout the week designed to cater for all ages and abilities. You can simply turn up and join in one of our coached sessions, join in one of the group sessions or arrange to have your own court. As the times of these sessions do change to meet demand please contact the club for further details.

parallax background

Pontefract Badminton Club was formed in September 2018 from players who were playing as ‘The Corinthians’ in various local leagues and is now fully integrated as part of the Pontefract Squash & Leisure Club – the club now has teams competing in the Leeds, Castleford, and Barnsley leagues.

The club is seen as being part of the development pathway for players from Pontefract’s “No Strings” sessions, along with Junior players, and the club have seen a number of players progress into team spots over the years.
Club Nights take place every Tuesday & Thursday for those who are registered members at team level standards.
The club arrange and attend various social events throughout the year including BBQ’s, nights out, attending the Castleford League Dinner Dance at the end of each season, along with playing other racket sports such as Squash and Padel.

League Results 2022/2023

Castleford League Tournament Results

Division 1

Men’s Singles Runner-up | Adam Purcell
Ladies Singles Winner | Jess Markey
Ladies Doubles Winners | Helen Merrett & Jess Markey
Mixed Doubles Runners-up | Dan Hooley & Helen Merrett

Division 2 & 3

Men’s Singles Winner | Matt Thomas
Men’s Doubles Winners | Matt Thomas & Jason Carey

Division 1 Vets

Men’s Doubles Runners-up | Matt Thomas & Jason Carey

Division 2 & 3 Vets

Ladies Doubles Runners-up | Sue Gavins & Suzanne Medlock
Men’s Doubles Winners | Matt Thomas & Jason Carey
Men’s Doubles Runners-up | Andy Carter & Howard Dodgson
Mixed Doubles Runners-up | Suzanne Medlock & Jason Carey

Barnsley Tournament Results

Division 1

Men’s Doubles Winner | Mike Sung & Partner
Men’s Doubles Runners-up | Adam Purcell & Mark Illidge
Ladies Doubles Winners | Angela Ellis & Laura Readings
Mixed Doubles Winners | Adam Purcell & Jess Markey-Liddle
parallax background

COMMITTEE 2023/2024

Chairperson | Beth Hursthouse


Match Secretary | Jess Markey


Social Secretary | Adam Purcell


Director of Badminton | Mark Illidge